5 organisations have launched the John Paul II Foundation for Sports, to promote the values of the Gospel through sports. They join other faith-based groups that have combined society’s love of sports and using the platform for athletes to share their testimony and faith in Jesus Christ.

1 Corinthians 9:24-27

Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize. Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training. They do it to get a crown that will not last; but we do it to get a crown that will last forever. Therefore I do not run like a man running aimlessly; I do not fight like a man beating the air. No, I beat my body and make it my slave so that after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified for the prize.


A series of marathons will take place between Bethlehem and Rome, starting on 24 Apr and ending 21 Jun with a international symposium on “The Social and Education Value of Sports” in St. Peter’s Square.

The foundation’s six values taught by sports are: respect for one’s body, knowing how to lose, knowing how to win, discipline, practice and hard work (based on quotes from Pauline epistles).

Read the full article here.
http://christianpost.com/article/20080729/new-faith-based-sports-ministry-presented-to-the-vatican.htm
by Josh Kimball, Christian Post
29 Jul 2008

